Random tidbits, catching up, what have you…

March 8, 2009 at 1:20 am | Posted in !announcements, Anime & Manga, Music, Seiyuu, _random rants | 1 Comment

Okay, so my hiatus took more than until just after I finished that paper (which, might I add, epically failed on anyways)…lol, I was gone for a month. Gosh, I wish could be more dedicated to my blog but long story short, sometimes life happens. OH HAY YORUKO HAS LIFE OUTSIDE OF ANIME/J-POP/SEIYUU WORLD?

But really on a serious note…my grandmother passed away on the 24th, and I was kind of just in a slump that week…which led to academic stuff piling up before my spring break (starting March 16th) so I am staring hell week in the face right now. So until then, I will not be blogging much.

Anyways about blog stuff…I must finish up that BeForU album review sometime. And even though I planned to review BeForU and Macross Frontier stuff, I sort of have an urge to review seiyuu music now…I’ve gotten re-obsessed with Suzumura Kenichi and Sakamoto Maaya. Of course, there’s also Mizuki Nana and Chihara Minori…and even Hirano Aya for the lulz. Orikasa Fumiko also has a really pleasant singing voice, but I doubt I’ll review anything by her though – she’s not a very high priority on my list.

The one thing in seiyuu music that has caught my attention the most is that…Inoue Marina needs an album. I’ve been desperately wanting one for…two years now. I mean, if someone like Hirano Aya can even land a recording contract…well, Aya-bashing aside, Marina has a simply wonderful singing voice. It’s amazingly versatile, and she blows a lot of real J-Pop singers out of the water. I was tired of putting the same six songs (her three 2-track singles) on repeat so I started hunting down some of her character songs (Speaking of which, I need to grab that Manabi Straight charasingle…)

Anime-watching has kind of been on a major hiatus for me ever since I finished Code Geass R2 during mid-January. Well I’ve previewed a couple of the new shows and so I’ll give a few random scribbles on them…I’m not following any of them closely though.

Akikan!
– I feared this would be a pointless/overly-fanservicey harem show. Turns out that some of the funny moments aren’t so bad and the characters are decent (with the exception of Melon – I do find her a bit too cliche and irritating). I love Kakeru’s perverted moments and the fact that he’s not as big of a loser as he seems to be. Najimi’s amusing to some extent, but I’d have to say Yell is my favorite. Oh, and you can’t forget the creepy gay government official who brings EPIC LULZ. Akikan! has a bit of a serious side too, and I hope the series balances it out nicely with the humor and doesn’t make them clash too strongly.
Chrome Shelled Regios – Fantasy/sci-fi combo with lots of fancy magic attacks and a clueless young male protagonist who has a past he wants to hide and some hidden power that must be used for the greater good…sounds like a recipe for disaster, right? The flashy fighting and to-die-for uniforms make Regios seem like some random fantasy RPG…I think this series is catering to my inner-child-who-wants-to-be-a-mahou-shoujo but it’s enjoyable all the same. Although I can’t help but facepalm when it seems like four girls might all fall in love with the main guy. I hope they at least bring his past into the series more later ~ I definitely want to see more about the Heaven Blades…
Genji Monogatari Sennenki – Historical anime has never really interested me…not because I can’t digest the information but lately I’ve been looking for anime as something that wouldn’t consume too much of my attention. The art is wonderful in this series, I love the voice acting as well (even though the antiquated speech manner grates on my ears) but I don’t think I’ll actively watch this. Although Genji’s trap-ness as a child was pretty amusing.
Kemono no Souja Erin – Good visuals, slightly too mellow/slow for my liking. The art is probably what would make me watch any more of it; it’s simplistic (reminds me of a Ghibli film almost) and the backgrounds are done nicely as well. Plot-wise…healers and dragons aren’t exactly my cup of tea.
Kurokami – Wonderfully dark and deliciously mysterious. I love the concept of the doppeliners – this series’ premise hooked me in, but for some reason I don’t really find myself being that enthusiastic about it. I think it’s mainly due to my recent search for light-hearted anime. I’ll definitely come back and watch this someday, since after a first few eps, it’s seriously giving me some Shakugan no Shana vibes. And I kind of want to cosplay that evil Irie Shouichi look-alike…but that’s beside the point.
SoraKake Shoujo (too lazy to look up the proper long title) – Promising, but somehow the character designs turn me off. I think I’m just tired of the whole ‘moe’ thing and shuddering at creepy otaku guys ogling them. The characters themselves are likeable enough though. Imo-chan is really adorable, and Fukuyama Jun as Leopard just cracks me up. This is low on my list, but I can’t say I won’t ever give it another chance…
White Album – Boring boring boring. I watched this for Mizuki Nana and Hirano Aya and still could barely get past the first ep. *sigh* Either this series really is shitty like j1m0ne says or I’m unable to appreciate the subtlety in its plot execution that Star Crossed loves, but I might just go through some more eps for the sake of the seiyuu cast…even though all the characters except for Rina seem depressingly bland. And there’s absolutely no chemistry between Touya and Yuki.

Sore ja, minna~

~ ’til next time,

Yoruko

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome back! I was wondering how long your hiatus was gonna be.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

