D.Gray-man licensed? Nani kore?!

May 18, 2008 at 8:53 pm | Posted in Anime & Manga | Leave a comment

I know I’m late on announcing this but…

d.gray-man promo

The D.Gray-man anime got licensed…by FUNimation. This announcement was made at Anime Central 2008, and the official site is here, with a video of the first opening, INNOCENT SORROW. The dub is slated for a 2009 release.

My thoughts on this? I was winding myself for a full-on rant, but considering how I let out my frustration yesterday (don’t worry, no effigies were burned), I’ll keep this short. Not sure if it’s going to be sweet though.

I’m generally a dub-hater, because all of the dubs I’ve heard are just cringe-tastic (the exceptions being Boogiepop Phantom and Miyazaki’s Castle in the Sky). And considering how FUNimation also dubbed Yu-Gi-Oh…*shudder* And Shounen Jump shows have not had the best track record in dubs…take a look at Naruto, Bleach, and Shaman King…

The problem with dubs is that actors get the script a mere 2 seconds before they record (I know this from a video of Johnny Yong Bosch showing a day in a dub actor’s work). How do you expect to capture the character’s personality perfectly on a cold reading? Seriously. D.Gray-man’s dub will be monotone at best (like Lelouch in Code Geass) and at worst, fake-sounding, forced, and absolutely nauseating (if “Akuma” is translated to “demon,” consider my meals gone). I’m definitely supporting fandub work though, since fans of a series actually take the time to understand the anime on a deeper level.

The main thing that irks me is that fansubs will either no longer be distributed or will be extremely hard to find. Yes, I should be a nice legal anime fan and buy the DVDs, but heck, it’s going to take a hella long time for the dual audio DVDs to catch up to where the anime is now. I could always read the manga, but it’s not the same. Why do you think I still watch the anime even though I’m up to date with the manga?

I guess I shouldn’t bitch too much about it. FUNimation did dub FMA after all. Perhaps I’ll give them a chance. Meh. I wouldn’t bet my Timcanpy on it, though.

I am personally surprised that Viz Media didn’t get it, since they jumped on the manga. Pity Geneon got sort of…shut down. If D.Gray-man HAD to get dubbed, I trust them the most…since some of theirs are actually…bearable. Well I’m glad that at least 4Kids didn’t snatch it. Lesser of the two evils, eh? I’ll take FUNimation over 4Kids anyday…

That said, I have a final exam to study for.

Signing off,
Yoruko

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

